Home Supervisor Page Supervisor Report Budget Clerk Page Newsletter Board Meeting Minutes History of Norway Directory Calendar Pictures Useful Links



The Heart of Herkimer County

The town was permanently settled around 1787 after an abandoned effort in 1786. Norway was formed in 1792 immediately after the creation of Herkimer County. Norway was originally a very large town, and it was subsequently broken up, directly or indirectly, into about thirty-six new towns in several counties. In Herkimer County, the Towns of Fairfield (1796), Russia (1806), Ohio (1823), Wilmurt (now defunct), and Webb (1836) were made by dividing Norway. Part of Newport was taken from Norway in 1806. The creation of Oneida County, Lewis County, Clinton County, Hamilton County, and St. Lawrence County from Herkimer County accounts for the remaining towns derived from Norway. In 1825, the town's population was 1,168.


Supervisor - Judy Gokey / Town Clerk - Lora Grower / Codes Enforcer - Frank Ceneviva

Town Board - Scctt Crossett - Perry Siver - Craig Gillespie - Gary Snyder

Codes Enforcer - Frank Ceneviva / Planning Board Chair - Lauren Watson

Highway Superintendent - Howard Eaton

Norway Historical Society is Selling Afghan's “Old Barns of Norway” Click for Picture and more Info.

NHS calendar is now available – an all new selection of barns on the 2011 “Old Barns of Norway” calendar.


View Larger Map
View Larger Map